Sat. Apr 20th, 2019

Oparanya & Wa Iria elected new CoG bosses

Kakamega Governor Wycliffe Oparanya has been elected the new chairman of the powerful Council of Governors and Murang’a’s Mwangi wa Iria the vice-chairman.

The two won the votes on Monday at Movenpick Hotel in Nairobi County.

Mr Oparanya took over from Turkana County chief Josphat Nanok while Mr Wa Iria succeeded Kirinyaga’s Anne Waiguru.

In his address, Mr Nanok said, “I was a chair of the council at the time of transition and I am proud that even after we received new members, we remained united as a team.”

He added: “I stood firm and fought for devolution. My intention was never to use this seat for my own political gain.”

Ms Waiguru said, “Governor Oparanya hosted us for the Devolution conference in Kakamega last year, and now he is the chair. I am hosting this year’s conference, so who knows? I might just be the chair next year.”

Wajir Governor Mohamud Mohamed was replaced by Makueni’s Kivutha Kibwana in the chief whip office.