6 more counties join nurses strike in defiance to Uhuru’s order

Six more counties on Monday joined the ongoing nurses strike despite an order by President Uhuru Kenyatta to call it off by Friday last week.

This brings to 17 the number of counties on strike.

Those who joined today are Nakuru, Tana River, Siaya, Kakamega, Bomet and Busia.

Murang’a nurses who were on strike since it started two weeks suspended theirs on Monday.

Speaking in Nakuru on Monday, nurses union secretary general Seth Panyako said although Treasury has released funds for the 2018-19 financial year, the counties are yet to implement the return-to-work formula signed on November 2, 2017.

“We will not be cowed until the nurses get paid their dues. Out of the 47 counties, only Machakos, Mombasa and Migori have fully implemented the agreement.

Other counties on strike include West Pokot, Kisumu Kisii, Wajir, Taita Taveta, Elgeyo Marakwet, Trans-Nzoia, Homabay and Marsabit among others.

“Talks with the county government over implementation of the 2017 Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA) on risk and uniform allowances have failed and we have downed our tools until the county heeds to our demands,’ said the Nakuru Union Branch Secretary General Syprene Odera.

Each union members expects to receive Sh15,000 uniform allowance per year and Sh23,000 nursing service allowance monthly.